2008 Trailblazer Award Recipient: Walter E. Johnson

2008: The 2008 recipient was Walter E. Johnson, Chairman of Amegy Bank of Texas (formerly the Southwest Bank of Texas), which he founded in the early 1990s. “Built by Texans for Texans,” Amegy is Houston’s largest independent bank and continues to expand locations and receive national recognition for its high performance and Excellence in Business Banking.   

With assets of more than $12 billion, 2,000 employees, local decision making and a history of relationship banking, Amegy has the resources to serve leading Texas companies as a source of capital as well as provide efficient and effective treasury management, international and investment services. Amegy specializes in small business banking, private financial management and trust services for families and individuals, and retail and mortgage banking services.

Johnson has served as president of the World Presidents’ Organization, director of the Houston Branch of the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, and , and Kirby Corporation. He was inducted into the Texas Business Hall of Fame in 2005. Johnson began his banking career after graduating with a business degree from Texas Christian University in 1958.

Deeply committed to community service, he spends much of his time giving back to the Houston community and chairing fundraising campaigns for area organizations. Johnson has received both a Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Fundraising Leadership and a Distinguished Citizen’s Award from the Boy Scouts of America.

Johnson has served on the boards of the American Free Enterprise Education Center and Foundation for Financial Literacy. He has headed capital campaigns for the Association for the Advancement of Mexican Americans (AAMA), and Star of Hope Family Shelter.He was presented with the City of Peace Award by the State of Israel.