The American Advertising Federation-Houston 19th Annual Trailblazer Awards Gala



Fact Sheet and Media Alert

For Immediate Release

July 18, 2016


Event:                   2016 AAF-Houston Trailblazer Awards Gala


Honoree:            Richard J. (Ric) Campo, Chairman of the Board & CEO of Camden Property Trust, Chairman of Houston First Corporation, and Chairman of the Houston Super Bowl Host Committee for Super Bowl LI 


Who:                     The American Advertising Federation-Houston


What:                   19th Annual AAF-Houston Trailblazer Awards Gala

The AAF-Houston established its Trailblazer Awards program in 1997 to recognize influential business leaders, who have built Houston companies through effective advertising, sound marketing, and corporate citizenship. Through integrated marketing communication programs, these trailblazers enhance their companies' images and the City of Houston’s reputation for economic development, business opportunities and growth, and quality of life. The annual gala honors leaders who personify the trailblazer’s spirit and celebrates their energy, ingenuity, and creativity.


When:                  Thursday, September 22, 2016 – Cocktail Attire 

                                                6:00 p.m. Cocktail Reception and Silent and Art Auctions

                                                7:15 p.m. Trailblazer Awards Presentation and Dinner


Where:                The Junior League of Houston, 1811 Briar Oaks Lane, Houston, TX 77027


Proceeds:            Proceeds benefit the work of AAF-Houston and its educational, community outreach, and scholarship programs.


Gala Chair:          Mike Reed, Clear Channel Outdoor

Auction Chairs: Sonny Villarreal, Lopez Negrete Communications, and Christine Stevens, Aquent


Tickets:                $250 Individual; Sponsorships $2,500 and up

                                Tickets & Sponsorships: AAF-Houston: or 713-237-9999


Contacts:             Mike Reed, Trailblazer Gala Chair:  281-588-4270 or

                                Nicole Fellers, AAF-H Executive Director:  713-237-9999 or


2016 AAF-Houston Trailblazer Awards Gala

Page 2

The AAF-Houston Trailblazer Hall of Fame

Stacey Gillman Wimbish, President, and The Gillman Automotive Group, 2015

Daniel J. Wolterman, President and CEO, Memorial Hermann Health System (former), 2014

Welcome W. Wilson, Sr., Chairman of the Board, Welcome Group, LLC, 2013

Martha F. Turner, Founder & Chairman Emeritus, Martha Turner Sotheby’s International Realty, 2012

Leroy Shafer, COO, Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo (former), 2010-2011

Leslie L. “Les” Alexander, Owner, Houston Rockets, 2009

Walter E. Johnson, Founder and Senior Chairman, Amegy Bank of Texas, 2008

George A. DeMontrond, III, President, DeMontrond Automotive Group, Inc., 2007

H-E-B, represented by Scott McClelland, President, Houston and Central Market Division, 2006

Tilman J. Fertitta, Chairman, President and CEO, Landry’s, Inc., 2005

John L. Nau, III, President and CEO, Silver Eagle Distributors, L.P., 2004

Jim “Mack” McIngvale, Founder and President, Gallery Furniture, 2003

Robert C. “Bob” McNair, Founder, Chairman and CEO, Houston Texans, 2002

Richard J.V. “Dick” Johnson, Publisher, Houston Chronicle (d. 2006), 2001

Don D. Jordan, Chairman, Reliant Energy (former), 2000

Drayton McLane, Jr., Owner, Chairman and CEO, Houston Astros (former), 1999

R. Randall Onstead, Jr., President and CEO, Randall’s Food Markets (former), 1998

Gordon M. Bethune, Chairman and CEO, Continental Airlines (former), 1997


American Advertising Federation-Houston

The American Advertising Federation-Houston ( is the association of advertising professionals that encompasses all disciplines in the advertising, marketing and communication industries. AAF-Houston has been recognized nationally for its programs and was again named Club of the Year for AAF Division II in 2014, 2015 and 2016. Founded in 1911, AAF-Houston is one of the oldest service organizations in Houston and enjoys a membership of more than 300 advertising and marketing professionals. Promotion of education and excellence in the industry is its core mission.  The AAF Houston Trailblazer Education Fund was established through the Advertising Education Foundation of Houston to honor all AAF-Houston Trailblazers.

AAF-Houston takes an active role in the community, both locally and through its affiliation with the national AAF (, the nation’s oldest national advertising trade association that acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.”  The AAF’s membership includes nearly 100 blue chip corporate members comprising the nation’s leading advertisers, brands and agencies, service providers, and media companies; a national network of 200 local federations in 15 districts, representing 40,000 industry professionals; and more than 200 AAF college chapters with 5,000+ student members.

Advertising Education Foundation of Houston

The Advertising Education Foundation of Houston( is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation and the Scholarship Foundation of AAF-Houston. Donations are tax deductible. The AEFH awards scholarships to college sophomores, juniors and seniors pursuing undergraduate or post graduate degrees in advertising, communications, interactive marketing, journalism, radio/TV, commercial art, production, public relations, or related fields. Students attending colleges and universities located in the AAF Tenth District region, covering Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Arkansas, are eligible to apply.




Category: newsletter