AAF – Houston and Advertising Education Foundation of Houston Award Scholarships to Ten Outstanding College Students at May 19 Luncheon

The American Advertising Federation – Houston (AAF Houston) and the Advertising Education Foundation of Houston (AEFH) presented scholarships to ten deserving college students at the AAF Houston monthly luncheon on May 19 at the Junior League of Houston. Honoring students who are pursuing an undergraduate or postgraduate degree in advertising, communications, journalism, radio and TV, commercial art, marketing, public relations or related fields, AAF Houston presented ten different scholarships to students who may be returning to the Houston area following graduation.
“We are extremely pleased to be awarding ten scholarships, totaling a value of $18,500, especially in an economy which proves difficult for student financial support,” says Rich Klein, chairman of the AEFH Scholarship Committee. “Supporting students who are planning to enter the communications industry is essential so that we can ensure the best resources are available for our future workforce in Houston.”
The AEFH supports education through granting scholarships to undergraduate and post-graduate students. Scholarships were awarded in amounts ranging from $1,500 to $2,500 per award. Scholarships went to the most qualified students within the guidelines of financial need, GPA, written communications skills, and general community and volunteer activities. Students must also have demonstrated commitment to the communications industry with internship or work experience, and participation in communications-focused professional or campus organizations. 
Categories and recipients for this year’s scholarships include: AEFH Scholarship in Honor of Sabra Grill – Meghan Burton, Sam Houston State University; Alice B. Rogers Education Foundation of Houston Scholarship – Kristina Whitcomb, Texas A&M University; Fogarty Klein Monroe Scholarship – Mallorie Rodak, Southern Methodist University; Bill & Sharon Young Media Education Scholarship (two awards) – Annie Lee Taylor, University of Texas at Austin and Tiffany Wilder, University of Texas at Austin; Saurage Research Academic Distinction Scholarship – Ashley Schneider, Texas A&M University; Lopez Negrete Hispanic Marketing Education Scholarship – Heather Diaz, University of Houston; Locke Bryan Director’s Scholarship – Sabbath Obot, University of Houston; Brett Elliott Education Fund - Victoria Tompkins, University of Texas at Austin; and the Houston Media Classic Education Fund – Heather Henry, Texas A&M University.
About the American Advertising Federation – Houston
The American Advertising Federation – Houston is an association of advertising professionals encompassing all disciplines in the advertising, marketing and communications industries.Founded in 1911, the American Advertising Federation - Houston is one of the oldest service organizations in Houston.Today, with a membership of well over five hundred advertising professionals, the group takes an active role in the community both locally and through its affiliation with the American Advertising Federation (AAF), a 50,000 member national association of advertising professionals.


Jay Hagins
(713) 237-9999
(713) 522-8327
Author: Jay Hagins
Phone: (713) 237-9999
Fax: (713) 522-8327
Category: notice