Bill Courtney Elected to AAF Board of Directors


The American Advertising Federation announced that AAF-Houston past president, Bill Courtney, had been elected to the national AAF Board of Directors representing Houston and Division 2 clubs across the country.  The announcement was made at the AAF National Conference 2008 in Atlanta. 

Also, elected as chairman of AAF is Murray Gaylord of the New York and Vice Chairman, Frank Cooper of Pepsi-Cola North America. 

Bill has been a long time member of AAF-Houston serving as president in 2000. He is currently serving his third year as chairman of the Advertising Education Foundation of Houston, which enjoyed one of its best years ever in 2008 by awarding $12,000 in scholarships from five endowed funds to seven outstanding students attending five different universities. The awards included the first Lopez Negrete Hispanic Marketing Education Scholarship. Through Mr. Courtney’s direction and passion, and the hard work of the AEFH Board of Directors, the foundation experienced a record breaking year that has seen the total fund balance rise to nearly $240,000. 
Shown left to right, Jay Janecek, Chair AAFH; Liang Shi; Tory Tompkins; Robin Wells; Sebastian Reeve; Tricia Rosetty; Bill Courtney, Chair AEFH. Not pictured are Cara Forsythe and Nicole Thomas.

A career advertising professional, Bill is currently the Director of Advertising and Marketing Communications for Hewlett-Packard’s Personal Systems Group Americas.  Prior to the merger with HP in 2002, he was Director of North America Advertising and Marketing Communications at Compaq Computer Corporation.  Bill’s experience before joining HP/Compaq includes advertising and marketing management positions at McCann-Erickson, BMC Software, Acuson Corporation/Siemens Medical and General Electric Company.

Michelle Hempton
(713) 237-9999
Author: Michelle Hempton
Phone: (713) 237-9999
Category: news | Sub Category: