2013 AAF-Houston Trailblazer Award and Gala

American Advertising Federation-Houston

Media Alert



Event:  2013 AAF-Houston Trailblazer Award and Gala
Honoree: Welcome W. Wilson, Sr., Chairman of the GSL Welcome Group,     member of the Texas Business Hall of Fame, and former Chairman of the University of Houston System Board of Regents
Who:  American Advertising Federation-Houston

16th Annual Houston Trailblazer Gala

The Trailblazer Award was established in 1997 by the American Advertising Federation, Houston Chapter to recognize area business leaders who have built Houston companies through effective advertising, sound marketing, and corporate citizenship. Through their marketing initiatives, these Trailblazers have enhanced both their companies' images and the City of Houston’s reputation. The Trailblazer Gala honors an individual who personifies the trailblazer’s spirit and celebrates that leader’s energy, ingenuity, imagination, and vision.


Thursday, September 12, 2013 – Cocktail Attire        

6:00 p.m. Reception and Silent/Art Auction

7:00 p.m. Award Presentation and Dinner

Where: The Houston Museum of Natural Science, 5555 Hermann Park Dr, Houston TX 77030
Proceeds:  Benefit the work of the AAF-Houston and its educational and scholarship programs
Event Chair:  Anne Mrok-Smith, AICP: 713-302-6774 / amroksmith@gmail.com  
More:     www.aaf-houston.org/ for Sponsorship information and to purchase tickets 





AAF-Houston Trailblazers:

Martha F. Turner  President and CEO, Martha Turner Properties 2012
Leroy Shafer COO, Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo 2010-2011
Leslie L. Alexander  Owner, Houston Rockets  2009
Walter E. Johnson Chairman, Amegy Bank of Texas 2008
George DeMontrond, III President, DeMontrond Automotive Group, Inc.  2007
H-E-B  c/o Scott McClelland, President, Houston Division 2006
Tilman J. Fertitta Chair, President & CEO, Landry’s Inc. 2005
John L. Nau, III President & CEO, Silver Eagle Distributors  2004
Jim McIngvale President, Gallery Furniture 2003
Bob McNair  President, Houston Texans 2002
Richard J.V. Johnson Publisher, Houston Chronicle (Deceased)  2001
Don D. Jordan Chairman, Reliant Energy (Retired)  2000
Drayton McLane Owner & President, Houston Astros (Retired)   1999
Randall Onstead, Jr.  President & CEO, Randall’s Food Markets (Retired) 1998
Gordon M. Bethune Chairman & CEO, Continental Airlines (Retired) 1997
Author: Anne Mrok-Smith
Phone: (713) 302-6774