American Advertising Federation-Houston and Advertising Education Foundation of Houston announce 2014 Scholarship Winners

American Advertising Federation-Houston
News Release
  Rich Klein, 713-867-3100

American Advertising Federation-Houston and Advertising Education Foundation of Houston announce 2014 Scholarship Winners

Keynote Speaker Jim McIngvale to address Awards Luncheon on April 11

Houston –April 7, 2014

The American Advertising Federation-Houston (AAFH) and the Advertising Education Foundation of Houston (AEFH) will present 20 scholarships totaling $40,000 to college students from throughout the AAF Tenth District, which covers Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas and portions of Louisiana.


Scholarship awards will be presented at a special AEFH benefit luncheon honoring student winners, family members, and professors on Friday, April 11, 2014 at The Junior League of Houston.


Houston entrepreneur, philanthropist, author and hometown hero, Jim “Mack” McIngvale, founder of Gallery Furniture, will be the Keynote Speaker. His topic, “Advertising Really Will Make You Money!”


“Each of the 20 winners will receive a $2,000 tuition scholarship. Our judges were very impressed with this year’s scholarship winners and their accomplishments,” commented Rich Klein, chairman of the AEFH Scholarship Committee.


“We received applications from students attending 17 different colleges and universities in the four-state AAF Tenth District. Selection was based on completing the online application, letters of reference, community engagement, work experience and school transcripts,” Klein continued.


“We are very pleased to be honoring both undergraduate and graduate students. This year’s class also includes a veteran and non-traditional students, reflecting the economic rebound. Many of the students have indicated their desire to return to the Houston area after graduation, which is important in supporting regional growth.” 


This year’s scholars and AEFH scholarships are: 


University of Houston: 

Corey Doiron, Brett Elliott Education Fund

Karla Figueroa, Lopez Negrete Hispanic Marketing Education Scholarship

Julio Flores, AAF-Houston Trailblazer Scholarship

Robert Garrett Ruffaner, Gallery Furniture Scholarship


Lamar University, Beaumont:

Courtney Sonnier, Locke Bryan Director’s Scholarship


Texas State University-San Marcos:

Taylor Espinosa, Skyline Displays Graphic Arts Scholarship


The University of Texas at Dallas:

Linh Nguyen, AEFH Scholarship


West Texas A&M University, Canyon:

Gustavo Barraza, Jean Brown Scholarship Fund


Texas A&M University:

Kelli Krenek, 4 Guys Interactive Scholarship

Lindsay La Rosa, KHOU Television Scholarship


Grambling State University, LA:

E'Vonne Gipson, Houston Media Classic Education Fund

Ninfa Saavedra, KTRK Television Scholarship

Tierra Smith, Gilbreath Communications Education Fund


The University of Texas at Austin:

Fahima Al-Uqdah, BrivicMedia Scholarship Fund

Sarena Chism, AEFH Scholarship

Jasmine Crockett, Bill & Sharon Young Media Education Scholarship

Sarah Davina, Saurage Research Academic Distinction Scholarship

Nina Ho, Rich Klein & Bill Fogarty Communications Scholarship

Dylan Nikoletopoulos, Bill & Sharon Young Media Education Scholarship

Candace Queen, Baxter+Korge Education Scholarship


For more information about Sponsorships and to register for the April 11 Scholarship Luncheon, please contact the AAF-Houston office at 713-237-9999 or visit


AEFH Scholarship Program

AEFH scholarships are awarded within the guidelines of financial need, GPA, written communications skills, and general community and volunteer activities. Students must demonstrate commitment to the communications industry with internships or work experience, and participation in communications-focused professional or campus organizations.


Advertising Education Foundation of Houston

The Advertising Education Foundation of Houston ( is a non-profit 501(c) (3) corporation and the Scholarship Foundation of AAF-Houston. The AEFH awards scholarships to college sophomores, juniors and seniors pursuing undergraduate or post graduate degrees in advertising, communications, interactive marketing, journalism, radio/TV, commercial art, production, public relations or related fields.


Students attending colleges and universities located in the AAF Tenth District – Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Arkansas – are eligible to apply. Preference is given to students who indicate a desire to join the Houston communications or integrated marketing communities after graduation.


American Advertising Federation-Houston

The American Advertising Federation-Houston ( is the association of advertising professionals that encompasses all disciplines in the advertising, marketing and communications industries. Founded in 1911, AAF-Houston is one of the oldest service organizations in Houston and enjoys a membership of more than 400 advertising and marketing professionals. Promotion of education and excellence in the industry is the core mission of AAF-Houston.


AAF-Houston takes an active role in the community, both locally and through its affiliation with the national American Advertising Federation (AAF), headquartered in Washington, D.C. The AAF ( acts as the “Unifying Voice for Advertising.” AAF membership is comprised of nearly 100 blue chip corporate members that comprise the nation’s leading advertisers, advertising agencies, and media companies; a national network of 15 district operations and nearly 200 local federations, representing 40,000 advertising professionals, located in ad communities across the country; and more than 200 AAF college chapters, with over 6,500 student members.





Author: Anne Mrok-Smith
Phone: (713) 302-6774