Martha Turner Named 2012 AAF-Houston Trailblazer

American Advertising Federation-Houston
News Release

September 11, 2012

 Camille Bryan, AAF-Houston Chairman, 713-977-5989
 Anne Mrok-Smith, 2012 Trailblazer Gala Chair, 713-302-6774

Martha Turner Named 2012 AAF-Houston Trailblazer
Annual Award Gala at HMNS on September 20, 2012

Houston… The American Advertising Federation-Houston will honor Martha F. Turner, President and CEO of Martha Turner Properties, with its Trailblazer Award on Thursday, September 20, 2012 at the Houston Museum of Natural Science (HMNS).
The AAF-Houston established the Trailblazer Award in 1997 to recognize business leaders who have built Houston companies through effective advertising, sound marketing, and corporate citizenship.  These trailblazers have enhanced their companies' images and the City of Houston’s reputation through their marketing.

The Trailblazer Gala honors an individual who personifies the spirit of the Trailblazer and celebrates that person’s energy, ingenuity, imagination, and vision. It promises to be quite an evening for a remarkable Texan.  

“The Trailblazer Award provides an opportunity for Houston’s advertising community to honor those marketers who make a difference,” commented Camille Bryan, AAF-Houston Chairman and Principal/CFO of Locke Bryan Productions.

“The Gala creates bridges between the wider community and the area’s creative resources to showcase the depth of innovation, talent, and generosity that our dynamic Houston market supports.”

Martha Turner Properties,, is a $1.3 billion dollar, Houston-based independent residential real estate company. Martha was inducted into the Texas Business Hall of Fame in 2009 in recognition of her contributions to keep Texas at the forefront of the nation's economy.

Martha’s support of education, health care, women’s organizations, and the arts has also earned her a reputation for commitment to community and to service.

The annual gala is an AAF-Houston fund-raising activity that focuses on education. Proceeds help fund scholarships, internships, and educational activities for aspiring young advertising and marketing professionals in Houston. Annual scholarships are awarded to college students within the AAF-Tenth District that includes Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and Louisiana.

The evening will feature a cocktail reception and silent auction (6 p.m.) that includes one-of-a-kind art pieces created by members of the advertising and design community, special award presentation (7 p.m.), seated dinner (8 p.m.), and tour of the new HMNS Hall of Paleontology.
Dennis Spellman, News 92 FM, will emcee the Trailblazer Award presentation. Senior Pastor John Crimmins, Christ Evangelical Presbyterian Church, will deliver the invocation. Smooth jazz provided by The Jim Conlan Trio will complement this celebration of excellence.

Event details and silent auction art preview at Ticket and sponsorship information at

AAF-Houston Trailblazers

Houston Trailblazers, 1997-2011, represent area leaders from a range of industries:
Leroy Shafer, Houston Livestock Show & Rodeo in 2011; Les Alexander, Houston Rockets; Walter Johnson, Amegy Bank of Texas; George DeMontrond, III, DeMontrond Automotive Group, Inc.; H-E-B; Tilman Fertitta, Landry’s Inc.; John Nau, III, Silver Eagle Distributors; Jim McIngvale, Gallery Furniture; Bob McNair, Houston Texans; Richard J.V. Johnson, Houston Chronicle; Don Jordan, Reliant Energy; Drayton McLane, Houston Astros; Randall Onstead, Jr., Randall’s Food Markets; and initial honoree Gordon Bethune, Continental Airlines, in 1997.


The AAF-Houston ( is the city's preeminent advertising and marketing communications organization. Founded in 1911, it is one of the oldest professional service clubs in Houston. Promotion of education and excellence in the industry is the core mission of AAF-Houston.
With a membership of some 400 advertising professionals, AAF-Houston takes an active role in the community, locally and though affiliation with the American Advertising Federation, a national trade association with a grassroots network of nearly 200 local federations in 15 districts, 40,000 advertising professionals, and more than 200 AAF college chapters with 6,500 student members.
Author: Anne Mrok-Smith
Phone: (713) 302-6774