Rockets Owner Leslie L. Alexander to be Honored by the AAF-Houston with the 2009 Trailblazer Award

HOUSTON (Oct. 14, 2009) – The American Advertising Federation-Houston will honor Leslie L. Alexander, owner of the Houston Rockets, with its prestigious 2009 Trailblazer Award. The annual award will be presented on November 5 at the 2009 American Advertising Federation-Houston Trailblazer Gala held at the Houston Museum of Natural Science. The Trailblazer Award, established in 1997, recognizes an influential business leader for enhancing the overall image of Houston through advertising. 

Leslie Alexander assumed ownership of the Houston Rockets on July 30, 1993, and has since devoted his efforts to making his team a champion, both on the basketball court and in the community. Alexander’s dedication to winning has resulted in two NBA championships with the Rockets, giving Houston its first professional sports championships. In 2008, Forbes recognized Alexander’s role in building the Rockets into one of the most successful NBA franchises, by naming him the NBA’s best owner. He is the founder of the Evelyn Alexander Home for Animals Foundation, which provides permanent homes to abandoned and abused animals. Alexander presently sits on the Board of Directors for the Humane Society of the United States, the Children’s Assessment Foundation, Clutch City Foundation, and Memorial Hermann Children's Hospital.

“Mr. Alexander has been consistently committed to greatness and devoted to Houston both on and off the court. On the court, most visibly, Mr. Alexander brought back-to-back NBA championships to our city – but off the court, he has been absolutely tireless in his efforts to help the youth and needy of our community and to build a first-class marketing and entertainment organization,” says Trailblazer Gala Honorary Chairman and President/CEO of Lopez Negrete Communications, Alex López Negrete. “This is our moment as an advertising and marketing community to honor and recognize his undeniable contributions to Houston.”

 Past Trailblazer Award recipients include Gordon Bethune, Continental Airlines; Randall Onstead, Randalls Food Markets; Drayton McLane, Houston Astros; Don Jordan, Reliant Energy; Richard J.V. Johnson, Houston Chronicle; Bob McNair, Houston Texans; Jim McIngvale, Gallery Furniture; John Nau, III, Silver Eagle Distributors; Tilman Fertitta, Landry’s Restaurants;  HEB; George DeMontrond, DeMontrond Automotive Group; and Walter Johnson, Amegy Bank.

 Proceeds from the Gala will support the work of the AAF-Houston, including educational support of local students seeking a career in advertising and marketing. Event Chair for the 2009 American Advertising Federation-Houston Trailblazer Gala is Laura Manning with Alex López Negrete serving as Honorary Chairman.

 About American Advertising Federation-Houston

The American Advertising Federation-Houston, formerly Houston Advertising Federation, is an association of advertising professionals encompassing all disciplines in the advertising, marketing and communications industries. Founded in 1911, the American Advertising Federation-Houston (AAF-Houston) is one of the oldest service organizations in Houston. Through educational programs and seminars, student conferences, and public service projects, the AAF-H encourages professional development throughout the industry and promotes a better understanding of advertising in the community. The American Advertising Federation-Houston, Inc. is a Non-Profit 501(c)(6) organization.

Author: Jay Hagins
Phone: (713) 237-9999
Fax: (713) 522-8327
Category: recent news